Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance?


Buying and owning a car is expensive. With the prices of gasoline and just about everything else going up these days, you may be tempted to get away with driving uninsured. Is it illegal to drive a car without insurance? What happens if you do? We’re going to answer all of these questions right now!


Table of Contents

  • Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance?
  • The Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
  • Contact Pronto Insurance for Low Cost Auto Coverage

Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance?

Text: Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance?

Every driver in the state must have, at minimum, coverage for $5,000 for property damage, $15,000 for injury to each person, and $30,000 per incident. When you have this, your SR-22 form will be filed with the DMV.

When driving in California, it is a legal requirement to carry either proof of liability insurance or an accepted alternative to liability coverage. A money deposit with the state treasurer is a legal alternative. Getting caught without meeting the California car insurance requirement could result in a number of penalties. 

The Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

The Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in California

California takes uninsured drivers very seriously. The exact penalty you will face depends on the situation. For example, if you were in an accident without insurance or were pulled over for a traffic violation, these are two very different scenarios. The state may charge you a fine of $1,000, have your vehicle impounded, suspend your driving privileges, or face jail time. 

The penalties are especially harsh if you have an accident. If you can’t show proof of car insurance after a car crash, California will suspend your license for one year, plus charge a fine.  Your car may be impounded until you pay any towing and storage fees. This doesn’t even take into account the medical bills and property damage liability that often result from an accident.

After your one year of suspension is up, you can apply to have your driving privileges reinstated on the condition that you have proof of insurance. If you are caught a second time without insurance in an accident, your license will be suspended for up to four years.

When you eventually do get car insurance, the cost of your policy dramatically increases when they see high-risk behavior like a license suspension in your history.

Contact Pronto Insurance for Low Cost Auto Coverage

Unlike others, our insurance company offers low cost coverage to California drivers. You don’t want to risk losing your driver’s license and facing a massive fine, and you don’t have to! Contact us today to learn more about meeting the state’s minimum requirements, full coverage car insurance, and being able to file a SR-22 form.

Start Saving! It’s simple.


Buy Online!

Get cheapest insurance quotes instantly.
Location pin icon
Been here before? Review your quotes.

Call Our Agent

Our licensed agents are ready to help you save.