You cannot register a car without insurance in Illinois. Proof of insurance is required at the time of registration. Let’s go more in detail as to exactly what the state requires for a vehicle registration and how you can meet the insurance requirements.
Table of Contents
- What is Required to Register Your Car in Illinois
- Do You Need Insurance to Register a Car?
- Illinois Car Insurance Through Pronto Insurance
What is Required to Register Your Car in Illinois
In Illinois, you are required to have auto insurance that provides $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, up to $50,000 per accident, and $2,000 in liability coverage for property damage. You’ll also need uninsured/underinsured motorist protection. Without this, you cannot drive on public roads. You have 20 days from the date of purchase to register a vehicle in the state of Illinois, but you can’t drive the car without insurance even on the first day.
Insurance isn’t all you need to register your vehicle. This applies whether you’re buying a brand new vehicle or renewing your registration. You need the following documentation to register a car in Illinois:
- Registration fees
- Valid driver’s license
- Proof of insurance
- Completed application for a vehicle transaction
- Odometer disclosure
Requirements vary from state to state, but all require proof of insurance. You don’t need to pass an emissions test like you would in California.
Do You Need Insurance to Register a Car?
Driving your car without insurance isn’t a risk worth taking. The penalties for driving without insurance in Illinois include fines and the suspension of your driver’s license. This is especially true if you’re in a car accident and don’t have an insurance card to show.
The cost of your insurance each month and deductible are nothing compared to the consequences of driving without insurance, especially if you get into an accident that involves bodily injury. A suspended license and up to a $1,000 fine is only the beginning! Plus, insurance companies will charge you more for insurance when you do finally get it because you’ll be seen as a high-risk driver.
Illinois Car Insurance Through Pronto Insurance
You can avoid these consequences by meeting Illinois’s proof of financial responsibility requirements. Pronto Insurance makes this easy to do!
Purchasing Illinois’s minimum liability coverage is the easiest way to meet the financial responsibility requirement. You don’t want to risk losing your driver’s license and facing a massive fine, and you don’t have to! We offer low cost coverage to Illinois drivers. Contact us today to learn more about meeting the state’s minimum requirements, full coverage, personal injury protection, and more.