Whenever you move to a new state, it’s important to familiarize yourself with any rules, restrictions, laws, and regulations governing your new home. In America, there are many laws that can differ across state lines. Something that is legal where you came from could land you in big trouble in California, and vice versa. It’s not all about what may land you in jail and what is now legally acceptable. There’s also simple rules of the road to follow, including what insurance is now required in order for you to drive. Yes, that state dictates this!
A Quick Guide to Car Insurance
Before we go into how car insurance in California may be different from where you came from, it’s helpful to give you a quick breakdown of car insurance in general. The role of car insurance is to help cover the bills and protect you from potentially devastating financial liability in the event of a car crash or other form of major damage. You pay a little bit each month, known as your premium. When you need to make a claim, like after a crash, you first pay the deductible. Your car insurance policy covers what is left.
Let’s say you pay $150 a month for coverage. Your car skids in the rain and you total it. Your deductible is $1,000 and so you pay this out of pocket. Your car insurance policy covers the remainder of what your car is worth, $20,000, so you’re able to buy a new one. Car insurance covers other costs as well, like medical expenses or a rental if your car can be repaired instead of replaced.
How Does Car Insurance Work in California?
Your new insurance needs may be different from the state you just left. Virtually every state requires drivers to have some form of car insurance and also sets minimum amounts. They’re not all the same, though. California requires drivers to carry at least the following auto insurance coverages:
Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
Property damage liability coverage: $5,000 minimum
Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
Uninsured motorist property damage coverage: $3,500 minimum
Car Insurance in California Through Pronto Insurance
The simple example listed above is for an easy explanation. The cost of car insurance in California depends on a wide range of factors, including your driving record, where you park the car, and the value of your car. The cost of car insurance can also differ from company to company for the same coverage. That’s why it’s so important to get a few quotes first! When you’re shopping for car insurance, be sure to get a quote from Pronto Insurance. We’re confident you will see that our coverage is both affordable and offers you the protection you need.