If there’s one thing we all know about Texas, it’s that we take pride in being a state like no other. We’re not fancy like California or rude like New York. We’re Texas! We do things our own way.
While we all love the Texas state of mind, it does make it a bit confusing when it comes to following the rules of the road. Just because we’re a casual, down-to-earth area of the country doesn’t mean anything and everything goes. Is it illegal to drive shirtless? Can you drive without car insurance? We’re going to answer all of these questions now!
Table of Contents
- Is it Illegal to Drive Shirtless?
- Is It Illegal to Drive Without Shoes?
- Is it Illegal to Drive Without Insurance?
- Understanding Your Texas Car Insurance Requirements
Is it Illegal to Drive Shirtless?
You’re coming from the beach or running to a drive through for a quick breakfast sandwich. Either way, you’re not getting out of your car to go inside anywhere. So, it’s okay that you’re driving shirtless- right? While there isn’t a specific law saying you can’t drive shirtless in Texas, you will want to keep in mind that, in certain situations, your lack of a shirt can be considered indecent exposure.
Is It Illegal to Drive Without Shoes?
It isn’t illegal to drive shoeless in Texas. In fact, depending on the type of shoes you’re wearing it may actually be safer to take them off. You may have mastered walking in high heels, but that doesn’t make driving in them safe! Just the same, driving with flip flops is not illegal, but it can lead to accidents. They can slip from the pedals or fall from your feet and get wedged under the pedal.
Is it Illegal to Drive Without Insurance?
Yes! You must have Texas car insurance. Unlike driving barefoot or shirtless, driving without car insurance in Texas is most certainly against the law. In Texas, you must have at least $30,000 in liability coverage for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. This basic coverage is called 30/60/25.
Understanding Your Texas Car Insurance Requirements
Texas law requires drivers to show proof they can pay for any accidents they may cause when they buy a new car. Most drivers do this by buying auto liability insurance. This type of insurance pays to repair or replace the other driver’s car, or other damaged property, and other people’s medical expenses.
Is it illegal to drive shirtless? What about without shoes? Do you really need insurance? How much? You have a lot of questions, and we have all of the answers! Reach out to Pronto Insurance for any additional questions, and to get a free car insurance quote.