Is it Illegal to Sleep in Your Car Overnight?


Different states have different rules. Sometimes, the rules even change when you cross into a new city. That can make it tricky to stay within the law. For instance, is it illegal to sleep in your car in Texas?

Table of Contents

  • Is it Illegal to Sleep in Your Car?
  • Does Your Car Insurance Cover It?
  • Get Comprehensive Texas Car Insurance

Is it Illegal to Sleep in Your Car?

Most states have specific regulations about where you can sleep in a vehicle. It is not illegal for you to sleep in your car in Texas. The only law that you need to respect is that you cannot park in a rest area for more than 24 hours. Essentially, you can sleep there- but you cannot live there!

It is often a safer choice to pull over and sleep than to continue to drive exhausted or drunk. It’s important to point out that you can still be arrested for DUI if you are sleeping in your vehicle while intoxicated. Also, you can’t pull over and sleep just anywhere you please. Not surprisingly, many states have banned sleeping on or near busy highways. It’s a hazard!

Does Your Car Insurance Cover It?

You must have Texas car insurance; that isn’t up for debate. Unlike sleeping in your car, driving without car insurance in Texas is against the law. In Texas, you must have at least $30,000 in liability coverage for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. This basic coverage is called 30/60/25. What does this cover, though? Does it cover sleeping in your car?

Yes and no. Just like your health insurance or homeowners insurance, you have certain stipulations you agree to when you sign up for car insurance. You probably have a policy that says you’re driving to and from work in your car, with some recreational activities as well. Anything beyond this wouldn’t be covered by insurance, like if you’re driving your car for Uber and therefore using it commercially, or if you’re living in your car.

Get Comprehensive Texas Car Insurance

Texas law requires drivers to show proof they can pay for any accidents they may cause when they buy a new car. Many drivers do this by buying auto liability insurance, for the minimum amounts listed above.

Can you sleep in your car? Does the minimum Texas car insurance cover it? Should you opt for more coverage than the state minimum? These are only the beginning of the questions you have. Reach out to Pronto Insurance for any additional questions, and to get a free car insurance quote. 


Start Saving! It’s simple.


Buy Online!

Get cheapest insurance quotes instantly.
Location pin icon
Been here before? Review your quotes.

Call Our Agent

Our licensed agents are ready to help you save.