Insurance protects you from financial loss in the event of an accident or other unexpected incident. Every state has different laws when it comes to car insurance, and California is no different.
In California, it is required that drivers carry liability insurance at all times while operating a vehicle on public roads. Liability insurance covers any bodily injury or property damage suffered by another person while you are driving. This is important because it helps protect you against financial loss if an accident were to happen. Additionally, California law requires drivers to have a minimum amount of liability insurance in the event of an accident.
So, in other words, yes, car insurance is required in California.
Minimum Auto Insurance Coverages Required in California
California requires drivers to carry at least the following auto insurance coverage:
–Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
–Property damage liability coverage: $5,000 minimum
–Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
–Uninsured motorist property damage coverage: $3,500 minimum
What Professionals Recommend
Some professionals suggest that drivers in California purchase more than just the minimum required auto insurance coverage. It is important to consider your unique circumstances and what kind of coverage would be best for you and your family. You may need full coverage.
For example, collision and comprehensive coverage can help pay for repairs or replacement of a vehicle if it is damaged by an accident, fire, theft, or natural disaster. While the additional cost of these coverages turns most people off, it is important to remember that these coverages can make all the difference in the event of an accident.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in California
If you are pulled over in California and do not have the required car insurance, you may be subject to some hefty fines:
– As a first-time offender, expect to pay around $100-$200, plus additional fees and court costs.
-The fines can be up to $500 or more if found guilty of multiple offenses.
-Additionally, your license may be suspended for up to 30 days if you are found guilty.
In conclusion, it is important to remember that car insurance is required in California and that not having the minimum coverage can land you with a hefty fine or suspension of your license. Be sure to purchase an adequate policy so that you are protected in the event of an accident.
Find Affordable Coverage With Pronto
As you can see, it isn’t not up to you whether you have car insurance or not; you have to have it. Since you must have car insurance, it makes sense to find a policy that works best for you. This means low rates, and the kind of coverage you can depend on. You need it to be affordable! If you are ever in an accident, you’ll want to know your costs are covered, too.
Suppose you just moved to California and need new auto insurance coverage that meets this state’s mandatory requirements, or you’ve been here for a while and are looking for cheaper car insurance that doesn’t cut corners. In that case, you’ll be glad to learn about Pronto Insurance.
Pronto Insurance is often the best rate without losing out on the coverage you need to depend on. Get your quote today and you’ll be pleased to see just how affordable a quality insurance policy can be!